Richie Ainger wasn’t pleased with the Slow Club at all, read his thrift review of their, not so hot, 2009 album ‘Yeah So’.

Slow Club – Yeah So
Moshi Moshi


Track List:-

1. When I Go
2. Giving Up On Love
3. I Was Unconscious, It Was A Dream
4. It Doesn’t Have To Be Beautiful
5. There’s No Good Way To Say I’m Leaving You
6. Trophy Room
7. Because We’re Dead
8. Dance ‘Till The Morning Light
9. Sorry About The Doom
10. Come On Youth
11. Apples and Pairs
12. Our Most Brilliant Friends

Yeah so… for those of you who don’t know, Slow Club were a two-piece from Sheffield who wrote and played gloriously twee and catchy songs and, in my view, deserved all the hype and praise that came their way.
But now they are a two-piece from Sheffield who have recorded a record so plain that even the title cannot sum it up. Yeah so, what does that even mean. Is it nonchalance, arrogance or just an acceptance of what they have become?

Slow Club have turned into a two trick pony. They can either play cutsie, 60s pop influenced up-tempo songs with an occasional rock-a-billy and surf feel to them. Or they can play stripped back, bare folk tunes reminiscent of Bright Eyes (but not as serious).
But these two styles become tiring after a couple of plays, as almost every fast song sounds similar (‘Our Most Brilliant Friends’ is the only differently faster track) and every slower song sounds similar. The songs are all anti love song rants, which also becomes a little grating.

The albums fast tracks include: ‘Giving Up On Love’ with vocals duelling (which is something Slow Club do rather well) around a 50s rock-a-billy styled melody, ‘It Doesn’t Have To Be Beautiful’ with the simple and rousing folk pop chorus, ‘Trophy Room’, debut single ‘Because We’re Dead’ which is one of the few high points of the album and closing track ‘Our Most Brilliant Friends’ which ends up in a mass of shouting and chanting.
These faster tracks seem to hold up better than the slower ones do, which plod along without changing. The main offenders are: ‘I was Unconscious’, ‘It Was A Dream’, the two tracks from the debut E.P. ‘Come On Youth’ and ‘Dance To the Morning Light’, ‘Sorry About the Doom’ (which I like to think, should be an apology for including a Doom metal song on the album!) and the unfathomable inclusion of ‘Apples and Pairs’, the b-side to ‘Me and You’ (and poor relation) which would have suited the album better maybe?

Don’t get me wrong, Slow Club are capable of some truly great pop songs, ‘Me and You’, ‘Trophy Room’, and ‘Our Most Brilliant Friends’ to name a few, but nothing stands out against the insipid tracks. The band have just recycled the same ideas over and over and in the end, the ideas ran out of legs and couldn’t carry the album. Slow Club need a reminder of what made them a good band in the first place, energy and catchy songs.

I’m left with a sense of bewilderment and disappointment. But ultimately I ask myself, Yeah so… what went wrong?

Richie Ainger

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: