‘The Sadness Of Remembering’



CD/ Download


Tracks –


1. Weight Of Your Finger  (4:32)

2. Draw A Line  (4:00)

3. You’ll Be Mine  (3:42)

4. Mr.King  (3:10)

5. Chip On A Shoulder  (4:30)

6. Quarantine  (4:32)

7. Every Man  (6:19)

8. You’ve Been Released  (3:20)

9. Needle Of A Man  (4:54)

10. Free From Fear  (5:15)

11, Tell Me A Story  (4:08)


Personal –


Simon Brown: Backing vocals, bass and guitar.

Ned Cartwright: Backing vocals, organ, piano and Rhodes keyboard.

Demain Weiland: Drums and percussion.

Yngve Weiland: Bass, guitars, harmonica, lead vocals and songwriting.


Guests –


Adrian Cox: Saxophone.

Kathleen Ross: Cello.

Channelling the spirits of rambunctious bar room elegies; New Orlean’s sagacious soul; and the rambling, roving commentary of a Blood On The Tracks period Dylan, the hard-working, ernest lads from Sligo, Ireland, do a grand job on their reflective debut, ‘The Sadness Of Remembering’.  Wearing-out the inroads and high roads of there native land and further afield with relentless touring (100 shows a year on average), Yngve Wieland and his brother Demian’s band of troubadours poured the deserved proceeds into the recording of this 11-track album. With further funding raised through the Irish Fund:it organization – a crowd funding scheme – the group have, luckily for us, been able to create this thoroughly decent effort.

Leaping straight from the tour van into the studio and helped by Simon Trought (The Kills, TV Personalities and The Wave Pictures) they’ve transferred that live buzz onto 1″ tape; laying down a tenderly warm – and at times rollicking fashioned – atavistic analogue sound.  Songs are imbued with a sense of the familiar, hinting and occasionally capturing the resonance of The Band and The Waterboys, whilst evoking, the very best, memories of their, sunnier indie-pop, compatriots The Thrills.

Despite the albums mournful, poignant even, title, there’s little in the way of melancholic eulogies – apart from the yearning cello weepy and blues show-tune, Everyman – but there is plenty of upbeat bawdry swagger and fun to be found. Leading singles Draw A Line and You’ll Be Mine roll around in the dusty dirt mirage of jabbing piano and pastoral uptempo jigs, whilst the back-room parlour lolling atmosphere of You’ve Been Released really ups the ante. The Rhodes organ lends a funkier Muscle Shores mood to songs such as Quarantine and the languid Stones-esque Mr.King: the Wieland brothers journeying down south for the Winter.

An encouraging, and flowering, first long-player from a well-rehearsed and tight group of players who show there’s still fuel left in the rock’n’roll folk tank.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: