PLAYLIST/Dominic Valvona

If you’re reading this than thank you for actually clicking the link through to the latest edition of Dominic Valvona’s eclectic and inter-generational imaginary radio show playlist. With no inane chat, smug aficionado endorsements or petty factiods, it’s the best kind of playlist: Just 2 hours of incredible music to discover, embrace, dance to (if the mood takes you) and wrap your head around. With no themes, other than the inclusion of tracks by those who’ve passed away during the month and a number of anniversary celebrating albums, the Monolith Cocktail Social is one long musical odyssey.

On Volume #61 Sum Pear idolise the sun, Creepy John Thomas skin up, whilst Juicy Lucy turn out a vision of Spirit’s ‘Mr. Skin’; Frank LoCrasto sends us out on a sublime float across the plains, and a fiftieth-anniversary album celebrating Sly & The Family Stone play us out with the epic ‘Africa Talks To You (“The Asphalt Jungle”)’ from their triumphant tumult of an album, There’s A Riot Goin’ On.  Talking of anniversaries, this month’s playlist also includes the lead track from The Kinks country-yearned Muswell Hillbillies album (released this month back in ’72), plus tracks from Teenage Fanclub’s breakout album Bandwagonesque (30 years old this month), something from Japan’s Tin Drum (incredibly 40 years old), and a beauty from Bradford Cox’s Deerhunter side hustle Atlas Sound’s Parallax (only a mere ten years old this month). We also pay a special tribute to former New York art-rock, post-punk, avant-garde stalwart drummer Dee Pop of Bush Tetras infamy, and so many other experimental projects, including with friend of the blog Andy Haas

Track List::

The Kinks  ‘Muswell Hillbilly’
Return To Forever  ‘Do You Ever’
Juicy Lucy  ‘Mr. Skin’
Creepy John Thomas  ‘This Is My Baby’
Skinned Teen  ‘Pillow Case Kisser’
Times New Viking  ‘Pagan Eyes’ Urbano de Castro  ‘Giloso’
Balla Te Ses Balladins  ‘Yo Te Contres Maria’
Ted Taylor  ‘Days Are Dark’
Teenage Fanclub  ‘What You Do To Me’
Bush Tetras  ‘Too Many Creeps’
T La Rock  ‘Ya Pushin It’
Muchos Plus  ‘Nassau’s Discos (Short Version)’
Tamar Aphek  ‘Russian Winter’
The Beets  ‘What Did I Do’
Atlas Sound  ‘Angel Is Broken’
Long Fin Killie  ‘Homo Erectus’
Los Supersonicos  ‘Introduccion’
The Ban  ‘Bye Bye’
Sum Pear  ‘Hey Sun’
The Pretty Things  ‘Love Is Good (Radio 1 Session 1972)’
Manduka  ‘Entra y Sale’
Frank LoCrasto  ‘Simple Times’
Stone The Crows  ‘The Fool On The Hill’
Japan  ‘Visions Of China’
Gjennomslag  ‘Siste Dans’
Biting Tongues  ‘Probate’
Kaira Ben  ‘Singa’Jackson Conti  ‘Upa Neguinho’
Dundundun  ‘Dun In Outer Space’
Hasan Minawi  ‘Ana Ma Feieh’
Khmer Jazz Fusion  ‘Juno Katah’Rob Sonic  ‘Hammer Of Chaos’
Ramson Badbonez/Kashmere/TrueMendous/Micall Parknsun/Joker Starr, Gee Bag/Confucius/Jehst/Phoenix Da Icefire  ‘Black Hole Cypher’
Sly & The Family Stone  ‘Africa Talks To You (“The Asphalt Jungle”)’


Playlist/Dominic Valvona

For all our friends and followers alike in various states of emergence from a full coronavirus lockdown and the escalating events of George Floyd’s death at the hands of the police, let the Monolith Cocktail ease some of the anxiety, uncertainty and the rage with another volume of Dominic Valvona’s cross-generational, cross-genre Social Playlists (the 46th edition in fact).

Soothing the soul, embracing the eclectic the blog’s imaginary radisohow (or podcast if you prefer) brings together tracks from across time, genres and the globe to take the listener on a musical odyssey of discovery.

For those of you without access to Spotify, we’ve chosen a random smattering of tracks from Youtube.

Tracks In Full:

Mombasa  ‘Yenyeri’
Horoya  ‘Sete Curvas’
Chrissy Zebby Tembo  ‘Coffin Maker’
Colin Hare  ‘For Where Have You Been’
Dick Stusso  ‘I Am Not The Girl You Used To Know’
Stack Waddy  ‘It’s All Over Now’
The Research  ‘All These Feelings’
The Weather Prophets  ‘The Key To My Love Is Green’
Ludus  ‘Little Girls’
Itadi  ‘Ye, Ye, Ye’
Kashmere Stage Band  ‘Thank You’
Hooksy  ‘Flying Market’
Twin Hype  ‘Do It To The Crowd’
Neek The Exotic  ‘Backs and Necks’
Nolan Porter  ‘Iron Out The Rough Spots’
Rob Sonic  ‘Jesus Christ Super Tramp’
Tommy McGee  ‘The Hatch’
Mike Nyoni and Born Free  ‘It’s Only A Dream’
Allen Toussaint And Eldridge Holmes  ‘Gone Gone Gone’
Easy Kabaka Brown  ‘Belema’
Sola  ‘Tu Te Has Ido’
Crystal Syphon  ‘Have More Of Everything’
The Pretty Things  ‘Baron Saturday’
The Overton Berry Trio  ‘Hey Jude’
Shawn Phillips  ‘From All Of Us’
Jad Fair  ‘Haunted By Frankenstein’
The Dream  ‘Four Phone-Calls’
The Youngbloods  ‘Faster All The Time’
Quatermass  ‘Make Up Your Mind’
Sam Rivers, Anthony Cole, Doug Matthews  ‘Spark’
Nate Morgan  ‘Mrafu’
Clap! Clap!  ‘Southern Dub’
Psychic Ills  ‘Never Learn Not To Love’
The Pretty Things  ‘Parachute’
Drum Circus  ‘Groove Rock’
Thunder And Roses  ‘Moon Child’
Goran Kajfes Subtropic Arkestra ‘I’m On My Way/Patch Of Blue’
Sarah Webster Fabio  ‘Together/To The Tune Of Coltrane’s ‘Equinox”
Awa Poulo  ‘Djara Wilam’
Willis Earl Beal  ‘True’

Video Choices

Hi, my name is Dominic Valvona and I’m the Founder of the music/culture blog For the last ten years I’ve featured and supported music, musicians and labels we love across genres from around the world that we think you’ll want to know about. No content on the site is paid for or sponsored and we only feature artists we have genuine respect for /love. If you enjoy our reviews (and we often write long, thoughtful ones), found a new artist you admire or if we have featured you or artists you represent and would like to buy us a coffee at to say cheers for spreading the word, then that would be much appreciated.

%d bloggers like this: