Monolith Cocktail Monthly Playlist Revue: February 2021

February 26, 2021

The playlist revue is our chance to pick out the choice tracks that represent the last monthly period in the Monolith Cocktail’s output. This includes new releases and the best of reissues, plucked from the team: that’s me Dominic Valvona, Brian ‘Bordello’ Shea and Matt Oliver.

February’s edition features another flight of African fantasy from The Invisible Session, a teaser from next month’s Edo Funk Explosion (released by Analog Africa), the post-punk, krautrock wrangling of Camera, Kabbalah C86 indie of Mazeppa, a stripped down in lockdown version of The Wedding Present, the third single from the Joy Division meets Smiths too-cool-for High School, and an array of essential Hip-Hop cuts from Strange U, Jam Baxter & Sumgii, Illman & Norm Oddity and Your Old Droog. In all, 40 eclectic tracks.


The Invisible Session  ‘West island’
Akaba Man & The Nigie Rokets  ‘Ta Gha Hunsimwen’
Byard Lancaster  ‘Jazz Lady’
Altin Gün  ‘Sevda Olmasaydi’
Samba Touré  ‘Tamala’
Baeshi Bang & Ip Koa Son  ‘Guna Hae’
Camera  ‘Kartoffelstampf’
Hifiklub & Eugène Chadboune  ‘Torso Corso’
White Ring  ‘Got U’
Hooveriii  ‘Control’
Haich Ber Na  ’87 Days’
Qwazaar/Batsauce/Hellsent  ‘No Ghosts’
th1rt3en & Pharoahe Monch  ‘Triskaidekaphobia’
Lion’s Drums  ‘Music From Memories’
Mazeppa  ‘Storm’
The Crushing Violets  ‘Embers’
The Wedding Present  ‘You Should Always Keep In Touch With Friends’
Dolph Chaney  ‘Status Unknown’
Ocelot  ‘Perhosia’
HighSchool  ‘De Facto’
The Legless Crabs  ‘Billy Joe (L)’
Strange U  ‘Maybe’
Jam Baxter & Sumgii  ‘Salsa Valentina’
Roc$tedy  ‘Gemini (Heaven & Hell)’
Illaman & Norm Oddity  ‘Ok!’
Your Old Droog & The God Fahim  ‘The Dunking Dutchman’
Grant Shapiro & Kool Keith  ‘42nd Street’
Nous Alpha & Christopher Bono  ‘Fibonacci Failure’
Graham Costello’s Strata  ‘Eudaimonia’
Lon Moshe/Southern Freedom Arkestar/Black Fire  ‘The Hutch’
His Name Is Alive  ‘Either’
Mapstation  ‘No No Staying’
Obay Alsharani  ‘Northern Lights’
Anansy Cissé  ‘Nia’
Jah Wobble  ‘Old Jewish East End Of London Dub’
Liz Davinci  ’10:23’
Animal Collective  ‘Sand That Moves’
Dom La Nena  ‘Todo Tiene Su Fin’
Marianne Faithfull & Warren Ellis  ‘She Walks In Beauty’
Matthew Sweet  ‘Best Of Me’

Hi, my name is Dominic Valvona and I’m the Founder of the music/culture blog For the last ten years I’ve featured and supported music, musicians and labels we love across genres from around the world that we think you’ll want to know about. No content on the site is paid for or sponsored and we only feature artists we have genuine respect for /love. If you enjoy our reviews (and we often write long, thoughtful ones), found a new artist you admire or if we have featured you or artists you represent and would like to buy us a coffee at to say cheers for spreading the word, then that would be much appreciated.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: